Newly Discovered “System Update” Android Malware Steals Photos, Videos & GPS Location

https://gbhackers.com/newly-discovered-system-update-android-malware-steals-photos-videos/

New Malware: “System Update”.

When the user downloads this harmful app on their smartphone, the app contacts the Firebase server and starts controlling the device remotely. Furthermore, the security experts have verified that this harmful app screen itself as “System Update.”.

Messages in messenger apps.
It will also have access to the messenger database files if you have root rights.
Bookmarks.
Browsing history.
Search history in Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Samsung internet browser.
Several types of files like.pdf,.
Clipboard data.
Content of the notifications.
List of set up apps.
Images and Videos.
GPS area data.
SMS messages.
Contacts.
Call logs.
Recording audio.
Recording phone calls.
Installed apps..
Device name.
Storage stats.
Video camera.

We must constantly stay alert and careful with the applications that we download and install from outside the Play Store because we can download an app with malware that could contaminate our Android devices.

This new “System Update” malware is surprisingly sophisticated malware, and this malware tricks and contaminates the users by releasing a notice that pretends to be a system update.

In this situation, when the user clicks the notice, the malware asks the user to install this brand-new application, which will later on request full access to the gadget..

And here once the user grants the gain access to, it will just take over the control of the gadget and will get access to all the following things that we have actually discussed listed below:-.

As just recently, the cybersecurity scientists at Zimperium have actually discovered a destructive app that can be downloaded beyond Google Play (third-party Android app stores)..

How Does It Work?

You can follow us on Linkedin, Twitter, Facebook for daily Cybersecurity, and hacking news updates.

However, here, the most relaxing thing is that this malicious app has actually never ever been offered on Google Play, and not only that, even the designers at Google are trying their best to prevent it from preventing its security walls.

To hide its harmful activities, it publicised phony alerts about the search for updates when it gets new commands from its speculators.

According to the report, the malware sends out various information to its Firebase C&C server simply after getting set up on the gadget. And the data that it sends includes storage statistics, ISP information, and set up apps..

However, here the Firebase is utilized just for conveying commands, while a different C&C server is utilized to collect other stolen information utilizing POST requests. This malware gathers information straight if it has root gain access to or uses the “Accessibility Services” function on the jeopardized device.